Translate this blog In....

World Sports News

Barcelona get Milan in group stage draw

 Holders FC Barcelona will meet AC Milan, FC BATE Borisov and FC Viktoria Plzeň in the UEFA Champions League group stage following the draw in Monaco.

The top seeds in Group H, Josep Guardiola's side are looking to become the first team to win the competition in successive seasons since Milan in 1989 and 1990, while FC Bayern München are targeting a place in the final at their home stadium, the Fußball Arena München, on Saturday 19 May 2012. If they are to reach the knockout phase, they must finish in the top two in Group A, which also features Villarreal CF, Manchester City FC and SSC Napoli.
Before helping to conduct the draw, UEFA General Secretary Gianni Infantino reminded clubs of the importance of being "united in our fight against match-fixing". He added: "Unfortunately, we have witnessed all too clearly the destructive effect that corruption can have on our sport and recent events have shown that it can reach all levels.
"There is no other solution than a zero-tolerance policy in order to protect the integrity and the beauty of this wonderful competition. This is a fight that together we can and will win − all together."
He also heralded another innovation in the competition, saying: "This year also marks the beginning of the financial fair play regulations. Working hand-in-hand together with you, the clubs, we will apply these new rules strictly in order to guarantee the sustainability and future of our club game. Dear clubs, your support has been essential until now and will be paramount for the future."
The group stage fixtures will be played on 13/14 September, 27/28 September, 18/19 October, 1/2 November, 22/23 November and 6/7 December – view the full schedule. The section winners and runners-up will progress to the round of 16 in the spring. Teams finishing third in each section will transfer to the UEFA Europa League round of 32.

2011/12 UEFA Champions League group stage
Group A
FC Bayern München (GER)
Villarreal CF (ESP)
Manchester City FC (ENG)
SSC Napoli (ITA)
Group B
FC Internazionale Milano (ITA)
LOSC Lille Métropole (FRA)
Trabzonspor AŞ (TUR)
Group C
Manchester United FC (ENG)
SL Benfica (POR)
FC Basel 1893 (SUI)
FC Oţelul Galaţi (ROU)
Group D
Real Madrid CF (ESP)
Olympique Lyonnais (FRA)
AFC Ajax (NED)
GNK Dinamo Zagreb (CRO)
Group E
Chelsea FC (ENG)
Valencia CF (ESP)
Bayer 04 Leverkusen (GER)
KRC Genk (BEL)
Group F
Arsenal FC (ENG)
Olympique de Marseille (FRA)
Olympiacos FC (GRE)
Borussia Dortmund (GER)
Group G
FC Porto (POR)
FC Shakhtar Donetsk (UKR)
FC Zenit St Petersburg (RUS)
Group H
FC Barcelona (ESP)
AC Milan (ITA)
FC BATE Borisov (BLR)
FC Viktoria Plzeň (CZE)




Dubai, August 8 2011

The six remaining teams that will join the Full Members at the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup 2012 in Australia are now known following the completion of the qualifying tournament in Ireland. And the team groupings for the 15-day celebration of youth cricket have now also been finalized.

The event will get underway in Queensland exactly one year from today and Scotland will be there as the leading Associate after winning eight of its nine matches during the qualifiers, which took place in Dublin and Derry.

Defending champion and host Australia will head Group A having been drawn alongside 1998 winner England, Nepal and Ireland. Group B is made up of the last event’s runner-up and two-time winner Pakistan, New Zealand, Scotland and Afghanistan while 2000 and 2008 champion India has been drawn in Group C along with West Indies, Zimbabwe and PNG. Sri Lanka, South Africa, Bangladesh and Namibia make up Group D.

1. Australia 2. Pakistan 3. West Indies 4. Sri Lanka
8. England 7. New Zealand 6. India 5. South Africa
12. Nepal 11. Scotland 10. Zimbabwe 9. Bangladesh
13. Ireland 14. Afghanistan 15. PNG 16. Namibia

ICC Chief Executive Haroon Lorgat said: “The ICC U19 Cricket World Cup is a very important tournament for us and I want to congratulate those six teams who have qualified to take part in Queensland next year.

“This tournament has proved to be an important stepping stone for elite young cricketers aspiring to play international cricket. It’s an opportunity for them to develop and test their skills in a high-pressure situation against the world’s best at this level.

“We also use it as an opportunity to educate them on several important issues like anti-corruption, anti-doping and social responsibility expected of international cricketers while also exposing them to the ICC Code of Conduct and media attention.

“In the past, we have seen some quality players come through the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup, including star players like Inzamam-ul-Haq, Yuvraj Singh, Brian Lara, Ian Bell, Virat Kohli, Eoin Morgan, Graeme Smith and Hashim Amla. I expect next year’s event to be no different in producing future world stars.”